Fifth Rehearsal

Posted: February 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

What’s poppin’, Colby?

So today Ellie and I had our first rehearsal after the meeting with Julian. He ended up sending us the rest of video over the weekend, so we were finally able to watch Float all the way through (well not ALL the way–the entire performance is about 10 minutes long, but we’ll only be learning a 5.5 minute chunk of it).

The new material is filled with great moments of synchronized phrases contrasting with independent movement, just like in the first 3 minutes that we were able to view in our previous rehearsals. Ellie and I started out by watching the new section three or four times through, giving us an opportunity to get a general feel for the emotions and stage positions of the dancers. We began to learn the choreography the same way we practiced the first half–we replayed one small section of each phrase multiple times and mimicked the movement until we had an idea of how it all fit together.

As we started the learning process again, I kept in mind the comments Julian had made about personally relating to the piece and the thoughts we want to convey through the movement. In a way, this made memorizing the choreography easier, since I was able to focus less on exactly copying the timing, angles, and expressions in the video and more on unfolding the relationship between those characteristics and my own intentions. Thanks, Julian!

After running through a bit of the new portion of Float a few times, Ellie and I performed it from the beginning. Focusing on Julian’s suggestions, I found the first half of the piece to flow smoothly, as I tried to let the motives I thought of, inspired by Julian’s suggestions, drive my execution of the piece. This process is a little more difficult when performing the new choreography, as I feel like I need to have at least some set movement memorized before allowing my body’s specific interpretation.

Overall, it was a great day. We’re back on track for learning and personalizing the movement and the previously rehearsed sections are loosening up and becoming our own. I can’t wait to see what the end result will look like!

Have a great week–it’s almost March!!

-Logan

Comments
  1. loganellie says:

    Great post Logan!

    I certainly agree that our meeting with Julian has opened our eyes to the emotional and intellectual aspects of the piece. There is so much to think about while we dance- intentions, emotions, weight, motivation- all of which will come through in our movements and expressions and allow the piece to come full circle. I am also starting to incorporate more of these elements into the first half of the piece. I can feel the muscle memory kicking in, freeing my mind to deal with the other aspects of the dance.

    Seeing the second half of the Float clip also really helped me to see the dance as a whole. I found that there was a shift in the choreographic style which is really interesting and broadened my interpretation of the piece. I could finally see what Julian was talking about when he expressed the piece’s reflection of childhood and tension.

    I’m excited to learn the rest of the piece as well as to continue to explore the weight shifts of the body and the intellectual/emotional aspects of Float.

    ~ Ellie

    • Logan,
      Nice description of “unfolding your relationship” of your own intentions to the mechanical details of the choreography.

      It is great to see your focused work in the studio together. I look forward to continuing to read your reflections on the process.
      AMK

  2. GITMAN says:

    You should urge Julian Barnett to get the whole clip on YouTube. From what I’ve heard the dance experiences an interesting dynamic shift toward the end of the piece.

Leave a Reply

